11 Questions to a Museum Blogger


best-blog

So it’s my turn in the 11 Questions to a Museum Blogger game of tag. Thanks to Tincture of Museum for passing this on to me, you can check out her great blogs about volunteering, training and getting experience in the museum world here – http://tinctureofmuseum.wordpress.com

And my answers to her questions are as follows…

1. Who are you and what do you like about blogging?
I’m Tracey and I blog about museums and exhibitions that I’ve been to, in a kind of review type way. I started blogging when I came back from spending a summer in Berlin and wrote up all the things that I’d done (which was mainly visiting museums!) and I really enjoyed it so decided to carry on back in London and I’ve kept going. It’s a nice way to organise my thoughts about things I’ve seen, and it’s also really nice when other people read it too.

2. What is the most popular post on your blog?
The Pompeii exhibition at the British Museum, but I think that says more about the popularity of the exhibition than the quality of my blog post.

3. Do you have a blog you want to write but haven’t found the time/research to do it?
I really want to blog about Hepworth Wakefield and Yorkshire Sculpture Park, but I haven’t made it to either yet, and can’t work out anytime soon that I’ll be able to 😦

4. If you could go behind the scenes of any museum, which one would it be and why?
London’s Natural History Museum (or any other one really) – I’ve been on one of their Darwin Centre behind the scenes tours and that was fascinating enough, I can’t even begin to imagine the crazy stuff they have elsewhere and I’d love to see the work that happens behind closed doors too.

5. If you could interview anyone, anyone at all, for your blog, who would you talk to and what would be the first question you ask them?
I’d interview Michael J Fox and ask him if I could work with him to curate a Back to the Future exhibition in California in 2015. I’m sure he’d say yes.

6. What is your earliest museum memory?
Gressenhall Rural Life Museum in Norfolk – I used to go with my primary school and dress as Victorians and cook in the kitchen. That’s probably a pretty standard museum memory, which is still going on today in museums throughout the country. I also remember seeing Rothko paintings in the Tate when I was young, that’s the earliest piece of art in a gallery that I remember making an impact. I think I just stared at them for ages.

7. What was the last museum you visited what did you see?
Dennis Severs House to go on the lunchtime tour, I’ve had it on my to do list for a while so it was great to finally go.

8. What is the weirdest thing you have done in a museum?
I’m a bit stumped on this one. Today I listened to a trout telling me about river polution. That was a bit weird.

9. If you could live in a museum which one would you choose?
Tate St Ives – it’s a great museum in a great location with great views. If I could find a cosy corner to set up a bed I think I would be quite happy there.

10. Which museum do you think more people should know about?
Your local museum, wherever that might be. I’m a big fan of local museums and I think more people should know about the exhibitions and events that go on there. I volunteered for quite a while at the Museum of Richmond and am sure most people who live in Richmond don’t even know it’s there, but so much work goes into putting on kids’ activities, changing exhibitions and other events.

11. What is the one piece of advice you would give to someone who was thinking about starting a blog?
If you really enjoy what you’re writing about you’re far more likely to keep it up and keep posting regularly, so just enjoy it and write about things that interest you.

And now it’s my turn to pass it on. And the lucky bloggers are:

entdeckeengland.com – always well written and interesting blog posts, with the added advantage of being in German and English so I can attempt to continue learning German.

sequinsandcherryblossom.com – always out and about and bringing the best of museums, exhibitions and events in London with a Japanese connection.

My questions to you are……..

  1. Who are you and what do you like about blogging?
  2. What inspired you to start writing your blog?
  3. Do you have a blog you want to write but haven’t found the time/research to do it?
  4. If you could create your own museum what would it be about?
  5. If you could interview anyone, anyone at all, for your blog, who would you talk to and what would be the first question you ask them?
  6. What museum do you visit most regularly and why?
  7. What is the most memorable exhibition you have been to?
  8. What is the weirdest thing you have done in a museum?
  9. If you could live in a museum which one would you choose?
  10. Which museum do you think more people should know about?
  11. What’s the oddest search term that has brought people to your blog?

And here’s what you have to do:

  • Answer the eleven questions – you can adapt them a little to fit your blog.
  • Include the BEST BLOG image in your post, and link back to the person who nominated you (that would be me, or this blog post).
  • Devise eleven new questions – or feel free to keep any of these ones here if you like them – and pass them on to however many bloggers you would like to.

Enjoy!

 

3 responses to “11 Questions to a Museum Blogger

  1. Pingback: 11 Questions to a Museum Blogger on (the day after) Museum Blog Day | Tincture of Museum·

Leave a Reply

