2013 here we come!! – 12 upcoming exhibitions to enjoy!

12 reasons why I’m excited about 2013…my picks for an exhibition a month until the end of the year…

JANUARY – Gwen John and Celia Paul at Pallant House Gallery, Chichester (until 27 Jan).

I saw this in 2012 and loved it so much it gets a mention here too; two amazing artists in a beautiful gallery, highly recommended.

FEBRUARY – Birds, Beasts and Beyond: The ceramic artistry of the Martin brothers in the Arts and Crafts period at Cuming Museum, Walworth, London (5 Feb – 31 Aug)

The Cuming Museum know how to make the most out of their space and resources and I do love ceramics so I’m excited to see this upcoming temporary exhibit as I know it will be well worth a visit. And it is free.

MARCH – Becoming Picasso at The Courtauld Gallery, London (14 Feb – 26 May)

Picasso was one of the first artists I could recognise, I remember being very proud of myself when I went to galleries and could point out one of his paintings and I still enjoy his work today. But it will be nice to see a slightly different side to the images that are so recognisable and the lovely Courtauld Gallery are making this possible with their Becoming Picasso exhibition looking at his breakthrough exhibition in Paris in 1901. Don’t forget the gallery is free after 2pm on Mondays.

APRIL – David Bowie is at V&A, London (23 Mar – 28 Jul)

It’s nearly Bowie time and I just can’t wait.
Striped bodysuit for Aladdin Sane http://www.vam.ac.uk/users/node/17362 V&A

Striped bodysuit for Aladdin Sane http://www.vam.ac.uk/users/node/17362


MAY – Life and Death: Pompeii and Herculaneum at The British Museum, London (28 Mar – 29 Sept)

In my previous life as an archaeologist (I never got very far!) I dug up a Roman hair pin and that’s about as exciting as it got, I have a feeling this could be a little bit more interesting!

JUNE – Lowry and the Painting of Modern Life at Tate Britain, London (25 June – 20 Oct)

Going to this exhibition is probably an admission I’m not going to get round to going to The Lowry in Manchester anytime soon, or it may be a timely reminder to go there too, we’ll see how the year pans out…

JULY – FABRIC-ATION, Yinka Shonibare MBE, Yorkshire Sculpture Park, Wakefield (2 Mar – 1 Sept)

Yinka Shonibare MBE, Fake Death Picture (The Suicide - Leonardo Alenza), 2011. Yorkshire Sculpture Park

Yinka Shonibare MBE, Fake Death Picture (The Suicide – Leonardo Alenza), 2011. http://www.ysp.co.uk/ysp-media/press-releases/uks-largest-ever-exhibition-by-yinka-shonibare-mbe

I love Yinka Shonibare’s ideas, his fabrics and colours and textures and how he puts these together exploring themes such as identity, race and class. So as the UK’s largest ever exhibition by the artist including new and old work I’m pretty excited! July should be a great month to go to Wakefield and explore the sculpture park, but there are many pieces indoors across three galleries as well for when the British weather lets us down.

AUGUST – Zandra Rhodes Unseen, Fashion and Textile Museum, London (12 Jul – 31 Aug)

I’m not as sure about this one, celebrating 10 years of the Fashion and Textile Museum, but that’s a reason why I want to go as just seeing things you know you will love isn’t particularly rewarding and I may come out completely inspired by something new.

SEPTEMBER – Masterpieces: Art and East Anglia, Sainsbury Centre for Visual Arts, Norwich (14 Sept – 24 Feb 2014)

I’m from Norfolk originally and never get back enough, but this looks like a great excuse to visit. The exhibition promises to “celebrate the rich and unique artistic heritage of the region, with works from across the visual arts – paintings, sculptures, architecture, ceramics, glass, jewellery, photography, textiles and design – from the prehistoric period to the present day”. I just hope the endless track maintenance on the Norwich-Liverpool St line don’t get in my way.

Lego Star Wars at the Great Western Lego Show

Lego Star Wars at the Great Western Lego Show

OCTOBER – Great Western LEGO show, STEAM, Museum of the Great Western Railway, Swindon (5 and 6 Oct)

This may be the ultimate geek-fest, held at a railway museum, the show gathers together Lego models built by members of the Brickish Association in the UK. I’m a little scared to be honest, but I’m going to try not to let that stop me going because the lego does look a lot of fun!

NOVEMBER- Turner and the Sea at Royal Museums Greenwich, London (Nov 2013 – Apr 2014)

Turner liked the sea and so do the Royal Museums Greenwich; a match made in heaven and definitely something to look forward to at the end of the year.

DECEMBER- Paul Klee  at Tate Modern, London (15 Oct – 9 Mar 2014)

I love Bauhaus and whenever I see anything related to it I wish I had gone to art school so it will be great to see a major exhibition about one of the teachers, maybe 2014 will be the year I finally enrol!

Leave a Reply

